Alban Bagbin Is Speaker Of 8th Parliament

Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin has been elected as Speaker of the 8th Parliament of Ghana, GhanaXtra.Com can report.

The former Member of Parliament (MP) for Nadowli Kaleo Constituency and Second Deputy Speaker of the 7th Parliament beat Professor Mike Ocquaye in a keenly contested election.

The results are however yet to be made public by the clerk of parliament Cyril Nsiah.

More on XTRA!:  President Akufo-Addo Scraps 7 Ministeries

The election of the 8th Parliament was characterised by confusion from members which lasted several hours.

The process which started moments after 12:00 am January 7, ran through until early morning.

With chairs and tempers flying at some point, the Clerk had a hectic time steering the affairs of the house.

More on XTRA!:  Just In: Akufo-Addo Appoints 46 Ministers In New Gov't


Facebook Comments


Call our Editor on 0209391902 or click here and inform us via Whatsapp. You could equally email your stories or articles to [email protected] and we'll surely put them online