2021 VGMA Winners: Diana Hamilton, Adina, KiDi & Kuami Eugene Big Winners of 2021 Event

The 2021 VGMA Winners were announced yesterday at a glamorous event.

2021 VGMA Winners
Diana Hamilton picks VGMA Artiste of the Year

Ghana’s music industry celebrated its major stakeholders at the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards, VGMA, held a few hours ago in Accra.

The VGMA which rewards music’s superstars who took their acts to another level within the previous year, has always been the most competitive awards and the biggest entertainment event each year.

Highlife musician, Kuami Eugene, and Gospel singer, Diana Hamilton, were in row to pick the coveted artiste of the year and set new records. Kuami Eugene was looking to set the record of two consecutive artiste of the year wins, having won the award last year, while Diana Hamilton was hoping to be the first ever female gospel musician to win artiste of the year in the VGMAs 22-year history.

In the end, Diana Hamilton received the bragging rights after picking the gong for the artiste of the year. The gospel superstar also took home, Popular Song of the Year, Gospel Song of the Year and Gospel Artiste of the Year awards.

KiDi, Adina and Kuami Eugene were the other top winners on the night.

VGMA 2021 Winners List

Artiste Of The Year

Diana Hamilton [Winner]
Kuami Eugene

Most Popular Song of the Year

Ataa Adwoa – Bosom PYung
Adom – Diana Hamilton [Winner]
No Dulling – Keche
Enjoyment – KiDi Sisa – King Promise
Ekorso – Kofi Jamar
Open Gate – Kuami Eugene
La Hustle Remix – Medikal ft Joey B, Criss Waddle
Happy Day – Sarkodie ft Kuami Eugene
Sore – Yaw Tog
Say Cheese – KiDi
Inna Song – Darkovibes

Vodafone Green award

Kofi Kinaata [Winner]

Album of the Year

Araba – Adina [Winner]
Kpanlogo – Darkovibes
Son of Africa – Kuami Eugene
The Truth – Medikal
Inveencible – MzVee
10 Am – Strongman
Blackstar – KelvynBoy
Lava Feels – Joey B

Best New Artiste of the Year

Bosom PYung
Dead Peepol
Kofi Jamar
Kweku Flick
Mr Drew [Winner]
Yaw Tog

International Collaboration of the Year

Favor Everywhere – Celestine Donkor ft. Evelyn Wanjiru
The One – Efya ft. Tiwa Savage
Something Nice – Kofi Kinaata ft. Patoranking
Show Body – Kuami Eugene ft. Falz
Baajo – Kwesi Arthur ft. JoeyBoy [Winner]
CEO Flow – Sarkodie ft. E-40
Paper – Sista Afia ft Victor AD
Thomas Pompoyeyew RMX – Pappy Kojo ft. Busisiwa

EP of the Year

Blue – KiDi [Winner]
Seed – Gyakie
Different – Guilty Beatz
Mood Swings – Edem
Sorry For The Wait, This Is Not The Tape – Kwesi Arthur
The Truth – Kofi Jamar

Afrobeat/Afropop Artiste of the Year

KiDi [Winner]
King Promise
Mr. Drew
Wendy Shay

Best Collaboration of the Year

Take Care Of You – Adina ft. Stonebwoy
Inna Song – Darkovibes ft. King Promise
No Dulling – Keche ft. Kuami Eugene
One Man – KiDi ft. Adina
Ekorso – Kofi Jamar ft. Yaw Tog, Ypee
La Hustle Rmx – Medikal ft. Criss Waddle, Joey B
Happy Day – Sarkodie ft Kuami Eugene [Winner]
Sore – Yaw Tog ft. O’Kenneth, reggie, Jay Bhad, City Boi

Best Rapper Performance

Amerado – Best Rapper
Eno Barony – God Is A Woman [Winner]
Joey B – Cold
Medikal – Stop It
Sarkodie – Brown Paper Bag
Strongman – Flawless

Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year

Epixode [Winner]
Ras Kuuku

Best Gospel Artiste

Akese Brempong
Celestine Donkor
Diana Hamilton [Winner]
Empress Gifty
Joe Mettle
MOG Music
Efe Grace
Eric Jeshrun

Hiplife/Hip-Hop Artiste of the Year

Eno Barony
Joey B
Kofi Jamar
Kwesi Arthur
Medikal [Winner]
Yaw Tog

Highlife Artiste of the Year

Kofi Kinaata
Kuami Eugene [Winner]
Sista Afia
Dada Hafco

Afrobeats/AFROPOP Song of the Year

Take Care of You – Adina ft Stonebwoy
Inna Song – Darkovibes ft King Promise
Forever – Gyakie
Momo – KelvynBoy ft Mugeez & Darkovibes
Say Cheese – KiDi [Winner]
Sisa – King Promise
Turn On the Lights – Kwesi Arthur
Let Me Know – Mr Drew
Maria – Camidoh
Emergency – Wendy Shay

Hiplife Song of the Year

Thank God – DopeNation ft. Kofi Kinaata
Enough Is Enough – Eno Barony ft. Wendy Shay
Long Life – Fameye ft. Kwesi Arthur
No Dulling – Keche ft. Kuami Eugene [Winner]
Dw3 Remix – Krymi xr Drew ft. All Stars
Pilolo – Strongman ft. Kelvyn Boy
Happy Day – Sarkodie ft. Kuami Eugene
Ghetto Boy – Tulenkey ft. Kelvyn Boy & Medikal

Hip-Hop Song of the Year

Ataa Adwoa – Bosom PYung
Otan Hunu – Dead Peepol ft Rich Kent. Akobam – Joey B ft Medikal & Kofi Mole
Ekorso – Kofi Jamar ft. Yaw Tog & Ypee
Money – Kweku Flick Live from 233 – Kwesi Arthur
La Hustle Remix – Medikal ft Joey B & Criss Waddle
Sore – Yaw Tog ft O’kenneth, City Boy, Reggie, Jay Bahd [Winner]
Force Dem To Play Nonsense – Eno Barony ft. Sister Derby & Strongman

Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year

Why – Adina [Winner]
Sheriff – MzVee
Forever – Samini
Lonely – Jah Lead
Killy Killy Rmx – Larruso ft Stonebwoy & Kwesi Arthur
Make Up – Kaphun ft Stonebwoy
Gye Diee – Ras Kuuku ft MOGmusic
Mi Dey Up Rmx – Kofi Jamar ft Stonebwoy

Highlife Song of the Year

Posti Me – Akwaboah
Playboy – Dada Hafco ft. Akwaboah
Enjoyment – KiDi [Winner]
Behind The Scenes – Kofi Kinaata
Open Gate – Kuami Eugene
Asabone – Lord Paper ft. Bosom P-Yung
Later – Mr Drew ft. Kelvyn Boy
Party – Sista Afia ft. Fameye

Gospel Song of the Year

Blessed – Akesse Brempong ft. Joe Mettle
Favour Everywhere – Celestine ft. Evelyn Wanjiru
Adom – Diana Hamilton [Winner]
Jesus Over Do – Empress Gifty
Yesu Mo – Joe Mettle
Jesus – MOGmusic
Jejeli – KobbySalm ft. Okey Sokay
Who Say God No Dey – Kofi Karikari

Best Group of the Year

Bethel Revival Choir
Dead Peepol
Keche [Winner]

Best Video of the Year

Why – Adina
Fancy – Amaarae
Adom – Diana Hamilton
Cold – Joey B
Open Gate – Kuami Eugene
On the Street – Kweku Smoke
Let Me Know – Mr Drew
Baddest Boss – MzVee [Winner]
Kpa – Okyeame Kwame
Thomas Pompoyeyaw rmx – Pappy Kojo

Best African Artiste

Burna Boy
Master KG [Winner]
Fireboy DML
Omah Lay

Producer of the Year

Chris Rich Beats
Yung Demz
Street Beatz
Richie Mensah [Winner]
MOG Beatz
Willis Beatz

Lifetime Achievement Award

Bob Pinodo [Winner]

Producer of the Yea

Richie Mensah [Winner]

Record of the Year

Be Your Own Beautiful – Adomaa
Daddy’s Little Girl – Adina [Winner]
Fancy – Amaarae
Die 4 U – Cina Soul
Too Much – Epixode
Diplomatic Teef – Trigmatic
Commot – Worlasi
Mmusuo – YaaYaa

Songwriter of the Year

Diana Hamilton – Adom
Kofi Kinaata – Behind the Scenes [Winner]
Adina – Hyedin
Joe Mettle – Yesu Mo
Abiana – Adun Lei
Epixode – Too Much

Female Vocalist of the Year

Abiana – Adun Lei [Winner]
Adina – Hear Me
Cina Soul – Die 4 U
YaaYaa – Mmusuo
Efe Grace – Lord Have Your Way
Enuonyam – Fill Me

Male Vocalist of the Year

KiDi – One Man
Joe Mettle – Yesu Mo
Akwaboah – Posti Me
MOGmusic – Oguamma [Winner]
Kyei Mensah – Take It All
Kingsley Amporful – God

Instrumentalist of the Year

Joshua Moszi
Nana Yaw Sarfo [Winner]
Prince Sennah
Emmanuel Bludo
Enoch Owuraku Kissi

Music for Good

YaaYaa [Winner]

Traditional Artiste of the Year

ManhyiaTete Nwom Kuro [Winner]

Facebook Comments


Call our Editor on 0209391902 or click here and inform us via Whatsapp. You could equally email your stories or articles to [email protected] and we'll surely put them online