Abronye DC Heads To Supreme Court Over Payment Of Salaries To Presidential Spouses

The Bono Regional Chairman of the New Patriotic Party(NPP), Kwame Baffoe has filed a suit at the apex court of the land challenging the validity to pay salaries to Presidential Spouses.

Kwame Baffoe is praying the Supreme Court to declare the decision as being inconsistent with the 1992 Constitution.

According to portions of the suit as sighted by GhanaXtra.Com, Kwame Baffoe wants the court to declare same as null and void.

“Declaration that per Article 71 of the 1992 Constitution of the Republic of Ghana; the Emolument Committee is limited to recommending the salaries and other benefits and privileges of only public officeholders.

“Per Article 108 and 178 of the 1992 Constitution of the Republic of Ghana; Parliament cannot on its accord initiate or approve payment of any such emoluments; which will necessarily be paid from public funds; without a bill to that effect emanating from and introduced by Government and duly passed into law”.

Meanwhile, three National Democratic Congress(NDC) Members of Parliament, Dafeamekpor Rockson-Nelson, Dr. Clement Abaasinat Apaak, and Frederick Nii Commey have also filed a suit at the Supreme Court over the same.

A five-member emolument committee was set up in June 2019 by President Akufo-Addo to make recommendations to him and to Parliament on the salaries and allowances payable, and the facilities and privileges available to article 71 officeholders.

Under the chairmanship of Prof. Ntiamoa-Baidu and which also had former Majority Leader and former Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Mr. Abraham Ossei Aidooh, the Chief Executive of the Fair Wages and Salaries Commission, Dr. Edward Kwapong, the current Director-General of the Internal Audit Agency, Dr. Eric Oduro Osae, and a former Managing Director, Donewell Life Insurance Co. Ltd, Mrs. Stella Segbawu, the committee had two terms of reference.

They were charged to make recommendations in respect of emoluments and other privileges for article 71 officeholders, as specified under the Constitution; and also to examine any other relevant matter which the Committee deemed appropriate to its work.

Similar committees set up in the past were at various points chaired by Prof. Miranda Greenstreet, Mrs. Mary Chinery-Hesse, Mr. Ishmael Yamson, Prof. Marian Ewurama Addy, and Prof. Francisca Edu-Buandoh.

Facebook Comments


Call our Editor on 0209391902 or click here and inform us via Whatsapp. You could equally email your stories or articles to [email protected] and we'll surely put them online